Christmas Sweetness

EDHMC_Mavis2_12_22_13

My family jokes about me every year that I always send gorgeous Christmas cards…. right around January…. working on them and they’ll be in the mail soon 🙂

I’d like you to meet my Christmas Sweetness cards, the lovely digital stamp is Mavis from Tiddly Inks, an absolutely cute little kitten. Snowflakes are designed and created by me, cut out by Silhouette Portrait. And there are lots of photos below as I created several variations this time around playing with the background papers as well as colors of Mavis too. This was a truly fun card making day (and night till dawn really)!

As my usual routine, first I outline the digital images in Silhouette Studio software (photo below) and have my Silhouette cutter complete the intricate cuts — please check out my very first tutorial on how to use digital images.

Once the cut out is complete I start coloring, which is always the most fun! I color the images with Copic Markers (list of markers below plus the final photo) spending a lot of attention to details and quality. Once coloring is complete, I highlight some parts with Fiskars glitter gel pens or glitter glue to add a little extra glow, which looks beautiful in natural light. Also, the main character is almost always mounted with foam pieces to give the image a 3D look. I also combined several different snowflakes into one larger piece — originally cut out pieces below.

This time I played more with the colors not only red but blue and purple as well combining with old world paper looks. And of course, gel pens and glitter glue, after all it Christmas time!

Please remember that I am always happy to personalize the artwork with a name, a quote or a special message, endless options really. Also, colors are always customizable options, after all Copic Markers come in 358 different colors!

Please visit my Etsy Store and  Facebook Page for more ideas and colored images. 

I am also posting more detailed photos below, please check them out too.

hugs, Rita

*please check your mailbox, one of these are being mailed to my sweet friends and family

The Copic markers I used — lots of colors today (more photos below):
Fur: E00, E11, E13, R20
Berries: R24, R27, R29, R59
Leaves: G14, G16, G17, G19, G29
Blue Dress: B02, B04, B05, B06
Red Dress: R24, R27, R29, R59
Purple Dress: BV01, BV02, BV04, BV08

I’m entering her in the following challenges:

– Jellypark Friends Christmas Challenge
– Cut it Up Challenge Blog #34 Christmas
– Totally Papercrafts #197 Christmas Nontraditional Colors 
– Crafts and Me #143 December 
– Copic Marker Europe CAS Challenge# 24
– Stampin for the Weekend Anything Goes
– Through the Craft Room Door Anything Goes
– Creative Corner Challenge CAS
– Glitter n Sparkle Nontraditional Christmas Colors 
– One Stitch at a Time Challenge #194 Anything Goes
– Curtain Call Sweet Snowflakes 
– Dream Valley #72 Christmas 
– Crafts 4 Eternity #155 Anything Goes

DSCF1560_2
EDHMC_Mavis_12_22_13DSCF1587_2

38 thoughts on “Christmas Sweetness

  1. Rita, before I start saying a few words about these gorgeous cards I’d better warn you that I’m having to fight my two boys, Leo and Edward, for access to my keyboard. They seem to think that I’ve found them a kitty dating site and they want to choose their soul mates. I love the variations in your colouring of the Christmas Kitties ….you’ve given each a personality of her own which you have accentuated by mounting so beautifully on such different papers. Ahhh, would you mind asking kitty number 3 if she would like to meet Leo who is attracted by her slightly more mature delicacy and Edward is clamouring for a date with bold, fun loving number 6. What great cards Rita, I’ve enjoyed them enormously. Happy Christmas and Good luck in our extended challenge. Ingrid xx ( OSAAT Team )

    • Hi Ingrid,
      Oh my goodness! You are absolutely too funny and way too kind to me!
      Thank you for your ever so sweet comments, I really appreciate them 🙂
      Wishing you and your loved ones a Merry Christmas too
      hugs, Rita

  2. That image is just darling and your coloring of her is beautiful! Love your design, sparkle, and pretty snowflakes, too! Thank you for sharing this with us at Jellypark Friends. Hope to see you again soon! :^)
    Hugs, Penny

  3. I love this image!! You have colored them perfectly. Thanks for playing at glitter n sparkle. Hope to see you next challenge. Good luck.

  4. Hi Rita – following on from my teamie Ingrid’s comments – my Blossom says she would like to go on a girls’ night out with those gorgeous kitties, mind you she does have a habit of being a little bit wild when she’s out! Her husband, Donnie, say’s he wouldn’t mind being a fly on the wall! I love your colours on here and the way you have coloured the kitties is superb, Truly lovely.

    Thank you so much for playing along with us at OSAAT this month, I wish you loads of luck in our challenge.

    Big hugs to you Sue Pxxx DT member

    • Oh Sue, haha! You and Ingrid sure make me laugh so much! Your cats and my little colored kitties, what a fun time they are having playing together 🙂
      Thank you so much for your kind words! hugs, Rita

  5. what a bunch of beautiful kitties! your colouring is second to none…. simply stunning! Thanks for sharing with us over at Glitter n Sparkle blog…. Vic, DT xx

  6. These are absolutely adorable. I love that you’ve shown the same image using so many color combos. And your coloring is out of this world, btw!!
    Thanks so much for sharing at Through the Craft Room Door…we hope to see you again very soon!
    hugs–
    Roberta
    TTCRD DT

Leave a Reply

