Flower Ballerina

EDHMC_Aurora_Wing_Ballerina2_12_30_13

What’s new in the old year? Although today is December 31st and we’re almost done with 2013, I have something new to share: Flower Ballerina birthday card and book mark, using the beautiful Aurora Wings image Flower Ballerina. As usual, all the background layers and swirly images are designed and created by me, cut out by my Silhouette Portrait. And there are lots of photos below as I am very certain most of you are wondering “what is with the red letters”? Keep reading, there is a reason, a very good reason.

As my usual routine…. Actually, unlike my usual routine (I think first time ever), I did not outline the digital images in Silhouette Studio software, nor had my Silhouette cutter complete the intricate cuts — but it’s possible: please check out my very first tutorial on how to use digital images.

Instead, the first layer has the image printed and then the shape cut out, then I enlarged the same shape and cut it out two more times from a purple and a white glitter paper. The same image was also used on the bookmark, just smaller.

Of course, coloring the main image is always the most fun! I color the images with Copic Markers (list of markers below plus the final photo) spending a lot of attention to details and quality. Once coloring is complete, I highlight some parts with Fiskars glitter gel pens or glitter glue to add a little extra glow, which looks beautiful in natural light. I also used Recollection Ocean glitter glue.

This time I played more with the extra pieces, got some swirly elements and butterflies to go on both the birthday card and the bookmark. And the red letters? This little girl loves rainbows so I cut her name out six times and airbrushed each with the colors of the rainbow, then glued each one after another and it made the perfect finish to her bookmark. And of course, made matching envelops for both the card and the bookmark. Happy Birthday sweet little girl!

Please remember that I am always happy to personalize the artwork with a name, a quote or a special message, endless options really. Also, colors are always customizable options, after all Copic Markers come in 358 different colors!

Please visit my Etsy Store and  Facebook Page for more ideas and colored images. 

I am also posting more detailed photos below, please check them out too.

hugs, Rita

*custom order, sold

DSCF1680_2

DSCF1684_2

DSCF1699_2

DSCF1688_2

DSCF1694_2

DSCF1703_2

The Copic markers I used — lots of colors today (more photos below):

Skin: E00, E11, E13, R20
Hair: YR20, YR21, YR24
Blue Flowers and Shoes: B00, B02, B04, B06
Pink Flowers and Dress: RV02, RV04, RV06, RV09
Background: B000, B0000

I’m entering her in the following challenges:
– Cut it Up Challenge Blog #35 New Year
– Make It Monday #172 Challenge 
– Copic Marker Europe CAS Challenge# 24
– Stampin for the Weekend Anything Goes
– Through the Craft Room Door Anything Goes
– Glitter n Sparkle #65 Favorite Image
– One Stitch at a Time Challenge #194 Anything Goes
– Crafts 4 Eternity #155 Anything Goes
– Alphabet Challenge W for Wish
– Ruby’s Rainbow Challenge
– The Paper Shelter Anything Goes
– Paper Pretties Bring in the New Year
– Miriam Crafting Blog Home Made Gift
– Divas By Design Anything Goes
– Digistamps 4 Joy Challenge #82 Anything Goes
– Crafty Creations Challenge #253 Anything Goes
– 7 Kids College Funds Anything Goes
– Twisted Tuesday New Beginning 
– Tuesday Morning Sketches Anything Goes
– Ladybug Crafts CAS
– Crafty Sentiment Designs Birthdays Challenge
– Bearly Mine Challenge Anything Goes
– Cute Cards #301 Anything Goes
– Bronte and Bella Challenge
– 613 Avenue Create Anything Goes
– Anonymous Stamps Anything Goes
– Chocolate, Coffee and Cards Challenge 
– Keep it Simple! Anything Goes

71 thoughts on “Flower Ballerina

  1. Oh Rita, this card and bookmark set will be pure magic to Katie. Your colours are so delicate and perfect for the beautifully coloured ballerina image. The butterfly and flourish are equally delicate and very beautiful. I love the shape of the card and the sparkle too. Then what a stunning bookmark which I can see encouraging Katie to keep reading just so that she can keep experiencing the magic you have created in this set.

    I’m so hoping that you have some of your wonderful creations that use images from The Stitchy Bear online store in hand so that you can keep spoiling us with your wonderful creations throughout the remainder of Challenge #194. Unfortunately the challenge states that no more than 3 non Stitchy Bear projects can be entered and this is the third treat we have enjoyed.

    Wishing you a very Happy New Year and good luck in our extended challenge. Ingrid xx ( OSAAT Team )

    • OMG! What a very kind note you had left me! Thank you so much, Ingrid! I too hope that Katie will have as much love for these items as I had creating them 🙂
      And it’s so neat that you just asked me about your images… I’ve been eyeing the Splash image this afternoon and really love that little girl dancing in the rain, hope I have time for her so I can still add to your challenge.
      Thank you again and also wishing you a wonderful 2014! hugs, Rita

  2. Maybe I am partial because my name is Katie…could this possibly be for me?! No, well, that is ok because this is fabulous anyway! 😉 It reminds me of the Fancy Nancy books ya’ know. Love! Happy New Year and thanks for playing at CIU!

  3. Your coloring is gorgeous. It is a lovely image and you have brought her to life. So stunning. Your rainbow is a very sweet personal touch.

    Thanks for joining us in our W for whatever challenge at Alphabet Challenge Blog.

    Mari

  4. Beautifully done! The image is lovely and well colored! Love the glittered layers! Great composition and wonderful execution! Thanks for dropping this off by our house here at 613 Avenue Create!
    Hugz,
    Chana, Owner

  5. Wow Rita – I thought you had printed coloured images – I then realised you had COLOURED them yourself! I am so envious of your skills! Your card and bookmark are perfection, I just wish I was Katie now – lol!! I am so glad you entered the OSAAT challenge for this month, lots of luck and please come back again soon.

    Hugs to you Sue Pxxx DT member

  6. What a stunning card Rita, your colouring is fabulous, so vibrant. The glitter paper is just perfect for this gorgeous creation 🙂 🙂 Saw your card on MIM 🙂 🙂 Happy New Year hun. Hugs Mimi

  7. Wow…great creations and such lovely images. Love all the glitter. Thanks for joining us at One Stitch at a Time. Good luck.

    Lynn, OSAAT DT

  8. Oh my gosh, this image is just absolutely STUNNING, and your card is jaw dropping beautiful. Thank you ever so much for sharing this with us at Tuesday Morning Sketches!

  9. WOW – That is absolutely gorgeous. Love the addition of glitter. Very girly. Thanks for playing with us at Twisted Tuesday Challenges.

  10. Rita, what a beautiful card! Thanks for joining us at Crafty Creations for our “Anything Goes” challenge. I hope you had an opportunity to hop over to the other blogs for a chance to win prizes there too. We are looking forward to seeing you in 2014.

  11. The ballerina is outstanding in so many ways. First, all the sparkle sets off the image beautifully,
    . Second the image is so fluid. I think that’s what I want to say. She seems like she’s moving. And your coloring is so beautiful.. I love the colors you chose.

  12. such a stunning image – your projects are all beautiful – thanks so much for sharing at crafty sentiments and good luck xx

  13. Pingback: Little Fairy in Hidden Forest | Edwards Design

  14. This so pretty and sparkly!

    Thanks for joining us at Stampin’ For the Weekend for our Anything Goes Challenge – hope you can join us again soon!

    Hugs

    Julie x

Leave a Reply

