Leopard Folding Card

EDHMC_Coosty_Creations_Leopard1_1_20_14

Expected to see a fairy? Cute little kids? Maybe a sweet kitten? But not today. Today, I need you to come a little closer and meet my gorgeous Leopard, part of my very first folding card. The beautiful digital leopard stamp and craft papers are by Coosty Creations — just beautiful!

The card itself is a custom order and I know we always chat about artists but I’d like to take the time and really send a HUGE THANK YOU to each and every one of you who have asked me to create an art piece based on your imagination, dreams and hopes. I feel absolutely humbled and honored that you trust me with your special projects. Thank you!

How did I create this card?

First of all, I need to give credit to Julie Price who created a folding card last week and inspired me with it. Thank you, Julie! Also, if you’d like to create your own folding card, please visit StampARTic tutorial for complete details, perfect step by step help.

Starting out with a 12 x 12 craft sheet, I used my brand new Martha Stewart Punch Around the Page Scallop 3-dot set —- these are really the best I have found, the set comes with a corner cutter and the straight lines as well, works perfectly each and every time. I also used the set to create the card front, back and inside. To create the rest of the pieces, I completely followed StampARTic’s tutorial.

Once the folding card was complete, as my usual routine, I turned to Silhouette Studiothen and outlined the leopard with a little extension below so I could fit it into the square front piece — please check out my very first tutorial on how to use digital images. And of course, there’s another tutorial on how to work with more complex digital images. Once prints and cuts were complete, I colored the leopard with Copic markers. Then assembled everything.

Please remember that I am always happy to personalize the artwork with a name, a quote or a special message, endless options really. Also, colors are always customizable options, after all Copic Markers come in 358 different colors!

Please visit my Etsy Store and  Facebook Page for more ideas and colored images. 

I am also posting more detailed photos below, please check them out too.

hugs, Rita

* artwork is customer order, sold

DSCF1886_2

Even decorated the back of the card

DSCF1883

The Copic markers I used:
Fur: E00, E11, E13, E33, E35, E37, E47
Eyes: YR20, YR21, YR24

I’m entering her in the following challenges (not entered to all listed, some challenge I’m just keeping so I can remember to check the wonderful artworks):
– The Squirrel and the Fox Challenge #61 Show Off New Stuff 
– Tiddly Inks CAS Challenge# 124
– Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge
– Make It Monday Challenge 
– Stampin for the Weekend Challenge
– Through the Craft Room Door Anything Goes
– Glitter n Sparkle Challenge
– Alphabet Challenge Y for Young
– Divas By Design Challenge
– 7 Kids College Funds Anything Goes
– Cute Cards #304 Warm it Up
– 613 Avenue Create Anything Goes
– Chocolate, Coffee and Cards Challenge 
– Keep it Simple! Anything Goes
– Crafting When We Can #61 Challenge
– Love to Scrap Challenge
– Ruby’s Rainbow Challenge
– Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
– Card Making Mamas Move it Challenge
– Brown Sugar Anything Goes Challenge
– Totally Papercrafts Challenge#202
– Wags n Whiskers Challenge# 120 Anything Goes
– Sweet Stampin’ Favorite Style
– Crafty Sentiments Challenge Anything Goes
– One Stitch At A Time Challenge

59 thoughts on “Leopard Folding Card

  1. Rita, this leopard folded card is breathtaking and so incredibly beautiful. What amazing talents you have that one day you create magic with fairies, then turn to cute kittens with their own personalities and today you show this wonderful Leopard in all the majesty and beauty of his revered position in the wild. Such versatility, such true talent that spreads such joy.

    That you have chosen a different style of image and created this stunning folded card leaves me breathless. The love and skills that you put into each and every creation, shines through in this wonderful card from front right through to the back.

    Thank you for sharing this lovely card in our challenge this week. Ingrid xx ( OSAAT Team )

    • Dear Ingrid — thank you so much for your sweet and thoughtful comment. I was very surprised myself that a new project came along that was very different from my usual path but was also so happy to create something so special and meaningful. Working with the gorgeous image and paper design was so wonderful too! Hugs, Rita

    • Oh, I need to tell you something Ingrid! As I’m writing back to your comment, my husband asks me where I found the leopard photo… so I stop and look around not knowing what he’s talking about. A photo? Turns out he thought that the card front image was a photo! Another compliment so sweet like yours, I’m just so overwhelmed with admiration, just wanted to share, hugs, Rita

  2. Rita, I am lost for words. Your fold card is so beautifully constructed, really crisp and sharp. I can’t believe how stunning your colouring is on this digi and how you have brought the leopard back to life. I (Coosty Creations) took the photo of this leopard while in Kenya a couple of months ago, he was an odd one lol. Normally leopard are so shy but this guy was acting like a cheetah, he was sauntering from one anthill to another, climbing up the anthill and looking around, then moving onto the next. It was obvious he was not hunting or interesting in the fact that he could be seen, his only thought were of finding the female which must have been about. We followed this beautiful boy for about an hour and a half, a truly awesome experience for me and one I will never forget. Back to your creation, thank you so much hun for creating such a beautiful work of art with the Leopard Digital Stamp and Paper pack and also for saying how much you enjoyed using it. Extra big hugs and good luck in this weeks OSAAT ‘Use A Digi’ challenge hun 🙂 🙂 Jane (Coosty Creations) OSAAT DT

    • Dear Jane — I cannot believe that you actually saw my work and it is YOU, the artist writing me! I’m sitting here in awe reading your lovely note, thank you so much! Your story just gave an even sweeter meaning to my work. Your leopard was stunning along with the paper pack (still figuring a way to use the landscape page in my next work) to start with and I’m so happy to have added my art to them as well.
      hugs, Rita

  3. Oh Rita, what can I say but WOW, your creation has put me at a loss for words treasure. Love your card shape, so crisp on the folds 🙂 I had to pop over to your blog when I saw you had used the Leopard Digital Stamp and Paper Pack. I took the photo for this image when I was in Kenya a couple of months ago and thought you might like to know a bit about him. It was in the Masai Mara and this chap was not acting like leopard usually do, we joked that he though he was a cheetah as he was not hiding but out in the open walking from one ant hill to another. He would sit or stand on top of the ant hill in full view and with the beautiful light I just could not stop photographing him. We guessed his odd behaviour was not that he was looking for his dinner but a female who must have been around. I think we followed him for about an hour and a half before leaving him to his antics, a truly wonderful experience and one I will never forget. The way you have coloured the digi has brought him back to life in so many ways, you are a very talented lady. Thank you for creating such a wonderful piece of artwork with my digi pack and the very kind words you said about it 🙂 🙂 🙂 Hugs Jane (Coosty Creations) xx

  4. What a stunning card, the fold is amazing! What a labor of love! Your paper combo is perfect and the image absolutely great! Thank you so much for taking the time to make a special card for our Circus challenge at CC&CC! Your support is soooo appreciated! Hugs, Joanne

  5. This is just absolutely amazing! I love this design. I can’t wait to try it myself. Your coloring is fabulous! Thank you for playing along with us at Crafting When We Can. Unfortunately, you have entered too many challenges to be eligible for ours. I do hope you will share your talent with us again. Hugs, Robin

  6. What an amazing card you have created! The papers and the image work so well together. Thank you for playing along with us at Chocolate, Coffee and Cards.

    Nadja DT

  7. WOW!! This is an amazing card. I love the leopard print and the image you colored is just stunning. 😀 Love it all!! Thank you for sharing and joining us at OSAAT.
    Deborah OSAAT DT

  8. Wow Rita, this is amazing! I saw it on facebook but it looks even better on your blog. Love the copic colours you chose and the shading is fantasitc. It’s a very unusual card and I love it 🙂 Thanks for joining us at Divas by Design.
    Hugs, Janine xx

  9. Fabulous shaped card and beautifully coloured – perfect for our challenge this week. Thank you for sharing your card and joining in with the fun at Sweet Stampin’ this week and good luck. Hugs Janine xx

  10. Rita, this is absolutely stunning. I created one of these folded cards and they take a lot of time and work. Yours is gorgeous! Your coloring is so realistic. I am in awe of your work. I am sorry to have to tell you the following:

    Doesn’t meet requirements for the Challenge – You must include a comment of what is new somewhere in your blog post. (don’t forget to say what is new).

    Thank you for sharing your creation with us at The Squirrel and The Fox. Unfortunately as it hasn’t met the challenge rules and does not fit with the theme it cannot be considered for the prize and has been removed from the draw. Please feel free to enter again with a creation the fits within this fortnight’s theme.

    Hope to see you again next challenge. Have a fantastic week!! Hugs, Gloria DT
    http://purpleglocreations.blogspot.com

    • Thank you, Gloria for the kind note! It’s unfortunate that my card didn’t qualify as everything about it was new from the paper to the images (even bought new Copic markers). But yes, very happy that you found it gorgeous, thank you 🙂

      • Hi Rita,

        Linda here from The Squirrel and The Fox, my apologies – I read your post and it states that you used a brand new punch – so yes it does qualify. Please forgive us (picture me down on my knees begging forgiveness). Your card has not been removed.

        Hugs,
        Linda xox

      • Hi Rita. You do qualify after all. I missed the comment about your new Martha Stewart punch. So sorry. I had Linda check it out and she found that note. I read it like 6 times. Apparently; I need my eyes checked. LOL! For future challenges; some people write the information requested next to our name when entering. It makes it easier for people like me to see. Thanks so much again Rita for entering. I apologize for the oversight. Love your card. Have a great day! Hugs, Gloria DT

        The Squirrel and The Fox
        http://purpleglocreations.blogspot.com

  11. WOW!!! WOW!!! WOW!!! Stunning project just love everything about it! Thank you for joining us this week at OSAAT and good luck. Hugs
    NIKKI DT

  12. Wow, lovely job. I have this type of card on my desk ready for an image. Can’t seem to find the right one. Thank you for playing along this week at OSAAT. I sure hope to see you back again very soon. Good Luck in the challenge!!!

    TTFN,

    CraftyGirl OSAAT DT
    craftygirlcardsandcrafts.blogspot.com

  13. ****CONGRATULATIONS RITA*****
    This woderful card is the Winning Entry in the OSAAT challenge #196 “Use a Digi”
    Please pop over to the winners post on our challenge blog for details on claiming your prize.

    Best Wishes. Ingrid xx ( OSAAT Team Comments Coordinator)

  14. Pingback: Lisbeth and Little Bunnies | Edwards Design

Leave a Reply

