Love is in the Air

EDHMC_MilkNCoffee_Romeo_Juliet4_1_22_14

With Valentine’s Day fast approaching, it’s time to start thinking about new cards, gifts and surprises for our loved ones. (more photos below)

Thankfully, Milk N Coffee Digi Stamps created and released two brand new images for us today: Romeo and Juliet and I’m extremely thankful to be on their Design Team, thank you!

How did I create this card?

About a week ago, I saw a tutorial by Karen Burniston who was showcasing the new accordion die sets, #769 to be exact but it’s so new that nobody that I know of is shipping it yet… However, I was able to find some of Karen’s earlier sets: Sizzix Bigz Die Cut, Album Accordion Flip 3-D with the matching die cut, frame and label set. For paper, I used Papermania Capsule Collection by Jesse Edwards which is a beautiful blue floral set.

Once the accordion pieces were all complete, as my usual routine, I turned to Silhouette Studiothen and outlined both Romeo and Juliet — please check out my very first tutorial on how to use digital images. And of course, there’s another tutorial on how to work with more complex digital images. Once prints and cuts were complete, I colored the images with Copic markers. Then assembled everything. And for the first time ever, used Glossy Accents by Ranger Ink to cover the rose.

And of course, no Valentines Day card can go without a sentiment (at least in my mind) so I turned to music. And even thought my friends know that I hardly listen to the actual lyrics (more like comfortable background noise), there are some amazing songs in my favorites. So I chose Sara Bareilles: The Light — absolutely breathtaking song that was most fitting for my card. Thank you, Sara for being so talented and amazing!  And with the lyrics, the card was complete!

Please remember that I am always happy to personalize the artwork with a name, a quote or a special message, endless options really. Also, colors are always customizable options, after all Copic Markers come in 358 different colors!

Please visit my Etsy Store and  Facebook Page for more ideas and colored images. 

I am also posting more detailed photos below, please check them out too.

hugs, Rita

* artwork is available for purchase

EDHMC_MilkNCoffee_Romeo_Juliet3_1_22_14 EDHMC_MilkNCoffee_Romeo_Juliet2_1_22_14 EDHMC_MilkNCoffee_Romeo_Juliet1_1_22_14

Even decorated the back of the card

The Copic markers I used:
Skin: E00, E11, E13,
Hair & Pants: E00, E11, E13, E15, E18
Veil: BG000, BG01, BG02, BG05, BG07
Shirt and dress: G12, G14, G16, G19

I’m entering her in the following challenges (not entered to all listed, some challenge I’m just keeping so I can remember to check the wonderful artworks):
– The Squirrel and the Fox Challenge #61 Show Off New Stuff 
– Tiddly Inks CAS Challenge# 124
– Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge
– Make It Monday Challenge 
– Stampin for the Weekend Challenge
– Through the Craft Room Door Anything Goes
– Glitter n Sparkle Challenge
– Alphabet Challenge Y for Young
– Divas By Design Challenge
– 7 Kids College Funds Anything Goes
– Cute Cards #304 Warm it Up
– 613 Avenue Create Anything Goes
– Chocolate, Coffee and Cards Challenge 
– Keep it Simple! Anything Goes
– Crafting When We Can #61 Challenge
– Love to Scrap Challenge
– Ruby’s Rainbow Challenge
– Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
– Card Making Mamas Move it Challenge
– Brown Sugar Anything Goes Challenge
– Totally Papercrafts Challenge#202
– Wags n Whiskers Challenge# 120 Anything Goes
– Sweet Stampin’ Favorite Style
– Crafty Sentiments Challenge Anything Goes
– One Stitch At A Time Challenge

32 thoughts on “Love is in the Air

  1. What a lovely creation! I’m sure this card will leave a memorable impression on whomever receives it. Your crafting technique and design is superb. Thanks for allowing 613 Avenue Create to enjoy it with you!

  2. Oh Rita, I can hear Romeo serenading Juliet with the beautiful song you have illustrated in this incredible card. The words are just so touching. This truly is a card of Love created with so much Love. The cut and fold looks very challenging and you have used it so perfectly that I’m in total awe of your talents that leave me amazed every time I visit you. Romeo and Juliet look so lifelike with incredible colouring ….surely the love you that you have added to their powerful love will change the fate that Shakespeare destined the lovers too.

    Thank you for sharing this lovely card in our challenge this week. Ingrid xx ( OSAAT Team )

    • Sweet Ingrid — you are just so kind! Thank you so very much for all your kindness 😉 Sara Bareilles’ incredible song and lyrics were really the perfect fit, all credits to Miss Bareilles there! I forgot to mention in the blog but I bought the paper with my best friend in Texas, just a little crafting shop in the middle of nowhere.
      Hugs, Rita

      • We find treasures in the most unexpected places when we keep our eyes and minds open, don’t we Rita. I imagine the beautiful paper is special to you because of the memory of shared time with a treasured friend xxx ♥

  3. Oh, this is absolutely stunning! Love the design – there’s so much to look at.

    Thanks for joining us at One Stitch at a Time this week, and good luck!

  4. Oh Rita, again amazed me with this brilliant card. I love your coloring and the way we present your project. I’ma big fan of you and I look forward to your next brilliant project. :))

  5. Fabulous card Rita, I can see the work you put into your card with all the folds & designing! Love the sentiments you used!
    Thanks for joining us for the challenge at One Stitch At A Time overusing a digi …… good luck!
    ¸. . • ‘¨ ¨)) -: |: – ¸. •’. • ‘¨ ¨)) * ((¸ ¸. •’ .. • ‘
    Shell in Alaska ~ OSAAT DT

  6. Rita, this is absolutely lovely! I adore that die and you’ve designed with it so beautifully. The images are gorgeous and I love the lyrics you chose. Stunning work on this treasure! Thank you for sharing your beauty with us at 7 Kids College Fund!
    Hugs and blessings,
    Karen

  7. Wow, this is an amazing project. your colouring is masterful, as well as the design. Thanks for sharing with us at Alphabet Challenges. Caz

  8. Such a sweet accordion card! Love the images you used and the colours are great. Thank you for sharing with us at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog!

  9. Your card is so pretty! I love how it moves when you open it plus your coloring is amazing! Thank you for joining us this week at the Crafty Sentiments Designs Challenge Blog! I hope you play along with us again soon!

    Jackie, Crafty Sentiments Designs DT

Leave a Reply

