My Wild Child Card from Dad

EDHMC_Tiddly_My_I_Love_You2_2_2_14

One of my favorite challenge hosts, One Stitch At A Time had a “White+1” challenge so I started thinking about the card, the message, the paper and once created everything, I found out that the challenge closed — I played around too long and missed out…  BUT, this challenge got me thinking! What about Dads? All those amazing, loving and caring Dads who want to give a Valentine’s day card to their son or daughter but not too crazy about sweet little flowers and lace and such? So that’s how these cards were born —- the perfect cards from Dads!

How did I create this card? I chose my new Tiddly Ink’s My Wild Child digital stamp as it really reminded me of my little girl and I, also fell in love with the quote by Maryann K Cusimano, just absolutely heartfelt.

As my usual routine, I turned to Silhouette Studio to outline and have my Silhouette cutter complete the intricate cuts — please check out my very first tutorial on how to use digital images. And of course, there’s another tutorial on how to work with more complex digital images.

Once prints and cuts were complete, I colored the foxes and made my die cuts with the gorgeous accordion dies set by Elizabeth Craft Designs and Karen Burniston with the matching frame and label set. Also, I used The Paper Studio’s Beach House paper pack for one card and Farm House’s Fair Skies paper pack for the other card.

Please remember that I am always happy to personalize the artwork with a name, a quote or a special message, endless options really. Also, colors are always customizable options, after all Copic Markers come in 358 different colors!

Please visit my Etsy Store and  Facebook Page for more ideas and colored images. 

I am also posting more detailed photos below, please check them out too.

hugs, Rita

* artwork is available to purchase at Son of a Bean Coffee House and will be used as the base for our February 8th event: Make a Valentine’s Day Card!

EDHMC_Tiddly_My_I_Love_You1_2_2_14EDHMC_Tiddly_My_I_Love_You3_2_2_14

The Copic markers I used:
Fox Fur on wood card: E11, E13, E15, E18
Fox Fun on green & flower card: E30, E31, E33, E35, E37, E29

I’m entering her in the following challenges (not entered to all listed, some challenge I’m just keeping so I can remember to check the wonderful artworks):
– The Squirrel and the Fox Challenge #62 Use Embellishments 
– Tiddly Inks Challenge Tags
– Simon Says Stamp Love Notes
– Make It Monday #177 Milk Coffee 
– Stampin for the Weekend Challenge Anything but a Card
– Through the Craft Room Door Anything Goes
– Glitter n Sparkle Challenge# 70 Buttons
– Alphabet Challenge Z for Zesty Colors
– Divas By Design Challenge
– 7 Kids College Funds Anything Goes with Valentine Twist
– Cute Cards #306 Something New
– 613 Avenue Create Challenge# 57 Anything Goes
– Chocolate, Coffee and Cards Challenge 
– Keep it Simple! Challenge# 32 Square
– Crafting When We Can Challenge# 61 Recipe
– Love to Scrap #22 Tag, You’re It!
– Ruby’s Rainbow Challenge #71 Use a Doily
– Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
– Card Making Mamas Move it Challenge
– Brown Sugar Challenge # 79 Feathers
– Totally Papercrafts Challenge#204 CAS
– Sweet Stampin’ Love Valentine
– Crafty Sentiments Challenge Anything Goes
– One Stitch At A Time Challenge# 198 Anything Goes

48 thoughts on “My Wild Child Card from Dad

  1. Your coloring really adorable and nice shape card too..really great card you have made…

    I see your creation on Make It Monday, my card is number 15, if you would like to see it on my blog and I would be glad if you would like to leave me some love…hugs, Monika

  2. Oh Rita, I want to stroke your fox ……His fur looks so natural and luxurious. I love the words in your quote ….perfect with your image. You know, as I was indulging myself in the beauty of this card I had the thought that it would very likely be the card my son would choose for me …..beautiful and all the aspects he knows I love, but not so ‘slushy’ that he’d be uncomfortable …..but then I also noticed that the fox brought thoughts of your little treasure to mind so perhaps you need to save it for her and I’ll tell my son to keep looking. This card is so beautiful in every way Rita and I do so love the magic you create in your work.

    Thank you for sharing this lovely card in our challenge this week. Ingrid xx ( OSAAT Team )

    • Thank you so much, Ingrid! My daughter and I bought a book together “I Love You, Alfie Cub” by Angela McAllister and Daniel Howarth, which was also inspirational and the book is about a little son and her mom actually so more fitting for you and your son, even though me might be a little more grown up now 🙂 I love that you enjoy CAS cards too, I like them so much too! hugs, Rita

  3. Rita, I am sitting here boo-hooing over your card! When my husband gets home, I am going to show it to him! You are so talented and this card is just so perfect for a father to give his child no matter their age!

    Thank you for playing along with the Stitchy Angel Design Team!

    Hugs,

    Chriss – DT- One Stitch At A Time

    • Thank you so much, Chriss! I seem to forget about creating cards for boys / men sometimes too and figured that Valentine’s day will be full of glitter and pink and fluff so wanted to do the opposite 🙂
      hugs, Rita

  4. There was so much said at OSAAT about your wonderful card that I just had to come and have a look. I fully endorse the comments of my teamies, the words are so heartfelt. The love between the fox and cub is beautifully portrayed too. Thank you for joining us at OSAAT, it has been a real pleasure. Jennie xx

  5. Super card! Love the foxes and the swing card is so eye catching. I have never had luck with them but give big props to those who can. 🙂 Thank you for playing along this week at OSAAT. I sure hope to see you back again very soon. Good Luck in the challenge!!!

    TTFN,

    CraftyGirl OSAAT DT
    craftygirlcardsandcrafts.blogspot.com

  6. Fabulous accordion card! Great image, beautiful colouring and lovely verse! Thanks for joining us at Sweet Stampin’ this week.
    Chris
    x

  7. What a glorious creation, in thought, inspiration, and execution! :o) When I see your name, I always know I’m about to be treated to something spectacular. The fox is astoundingly realistic and I love your paper and sentiment choices. It is a joy to see your work and I am delighted you shared with us at 7 Kids College Fund! Have a sparkly day!
    Hugs and blessings,
    Karen

  8. This entry is not one of my numbers but ther has been so much interest in the DT I just had to come and have a look and it was sooo worth it -I love the shape, images and papers BUT it is the emotion and love in the verses which set this card apart and make it soooo special and I am glad you could still enter in our challenge and share your beautiful card
    Carol DT(OSAAT) x

  9. What fantastic concept “Cards from Dad”. I love how you colored your fox and created your flip card it’s really pretty and your sentiment is wonderful too. Thank you sharing and joining us OSAAT.
    Deborah OSAAT DT

  10. This is such a gorgeous card! Love the beautiful shape and your great coloring. The sentiment is awesome! Thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

