Happy Birthday Sweet Bell Bell

EDHMC_MiC_Accordion_2_18_14_ALL

So many wonderful crafty groups, so many wonderful friends, so many wonderful creative ideas! Some groups work around sketches, others use lots of cutting techniques and then there is a group of extremely talented people who color. I mean color up a storm! Do you know who I’m talking about? Yes, I’m referring to Make it Crafty and the ever talented Facebook Group with an awesome Facebook Fan Page — please visit them all, you will be so happy you did!

As most creative sites, some weekly challenges involve sketches and, I must admit, they’re not something I ever consider… just not my favorite to follow… but, thanks to some friends’ encouragements at Make it Crafty, I decided to give Sketch#6 a try and that’s how my birthday card to my sweet little Bell Bell was born; used the following images: Girlfriends skipping, Rosey Walk, Rainbow Meadow and Whimsical Flowers.

I took each of the background images and placed them in InDesign and then placed one of the girlfriends over each background image keeping the overall measurement of each image at 3″ x 3″. Once printed, I made my die cuts with the gorgeous accordion die set, can use Karen Burniston’s die set by Sizzix or there’s a new wafer-thin version of the album available by Elizabeth Craft Designs and Karen Burniston. And if you really love accordion cards, there are many other possibilities as well. Also, I used Fancy Pants Parkbench paper along with Fancy Pants Be. Loved paper — love that they’re all made in the USA, please support our local manufacturers!

Once everything was colored (few hours of fun!), I used a string to serve as jump rope for the little friends and added Ranger Glossy Accents to highlight the little birds, the ladybug and the rainbow — my Bell’s favorite color!

Please remember that I am always happy to personalize the artwork with a name, a quote or a special message, endless options really. Also, colors are always customizable options, after all Copic Markers come in 358 different colors!

Please visit my Etsy Store and  Facebook Page for more ideas and colored images. 

I am also posting more detailed photos below, please check them out too.

hugs, Rita

EDHMC_MiC_Accordion2_2_18_14 DSCF2046_2 DSCF2033_2 DSCF2034_2 DSCF2035_2

The Copic markers I used: will list shortly, there were so many

I’m entering her in the following challenges (not entered to all listed, some challenge I’m just keeping so I can remember to check the wonderful artworks):
– Marker Pop Challenge#37
– The Squirrel and the Fox Challenge #63 Love 
– Tiddly Inks Challenge Primary Colors
– Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge
– Make It Monday #179 Challenge 
– Stampin for the Weekend Challenge Flower Power
– Through the Craft Room Door Anything Goes
– Glitter n Sparkle Challenge# 72
– Alphabet Challenge A for Always and Forever
– Divas By Design Challenge Rubber Stamp Only
– 7 Kids College Funds Challenge# 93 Anything Goes
– Cute Cards #309 Buttons and Bows
– 613 Avenue Create Challenge# 59 Anything Goes
– Chocolate, Coffee and Cards Challenge 
– Crafting When We Can Challenge# 63 Bling
– Love to Scrap #24 Anything Goes
– Ruby’s Rainbow Challenge #73 Textures
– Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
– Card Making Mamas Make it Sparkle
– Brown Sugar Challenge # 81 Use a Die Cut or Punch
– Totally Papercrafts Challenge
– Sweet Stampin’ Challenge
– Crafty Sentiments Challenge Anything Goes
– One Stitch At A Time Challenge# 200

46 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Sweet Bell Bell

  1. This is awesome, I am the one who wondered where you got the die from…do you think it is safe to give my credit card details for this to be delivered to Australia…x

    • Hi Annie — yes, I can say that Elizabeth Craft Designs is an awesome source for all things crafty. When it comes to paying for most anything on the internet, I actually use PayPal as much as possible as it provides an additional layer of protection and if a store doesn’t take PayPal, I use my credit card only, never my bank card as reversing a false CC charge is always easier than asking the banks to refund stolen cash. Of course, just my practice. I hope this helps you 🙂
      hugs, Rita

  2. WOW! That’s an amazing project, so much detail and all so cute, thanks for joining us at Crafty Sentiments and Divas by Design this week. Jac x

  3. Oh my word Rita …..you’ve created the happiest and most joyful Birthday Party all in this very special Birthday card. Your dear Bell’s friends will be vying for invitations to the real thing when they see the promises to come.

    Your lovely bright colours add to the innocent vibrancy in children playing together outdoors. Skipping beats all those video games any day and you’ve shown the joy in young people having such fun together through your awesome colouring of each friend. The addition of the skipping rope is inspirational ..especially as there is so much ‘movement ‘ throughout this card.

    Through your colouring the joys and beauty of Nature and the outdoors are shown in your intricate colouring of leaves, flowers, snail and butterflies …your detail in each stroke of the pen is so powerful. Oh, and the rainbow high above the clouds in the sky …..well Rita, you’ve certainly created a card of such freshness ….as the sun comes to play after a light rain shower. What a very beautiful card for a Very beautiful little lady.
    Lots of love Ingrid xxx ♥ ♥ ♥

    • Thank you so much! You’re so sweet to me 🙂
      I was hoping to capture these little girls’ friendship and joy of playing together. And the rainbow had to be over the middle as the little girl skipping is Bell, she loves everything rainbow. The jump rope? Oh, it was part of a tag from G.H. Bass and I liked it so much that I couldn’t just throw away (still have the tag too), talk about recycling hahaaa
      XOXO ❤

  4. Me again Rita – this is totally striking! Your colouring of the gorgeous images is amazing, I love this card loads. Also glad I’ve seen it ‘cos I have just bought this die and haven’t yet used it, at least I know how it looks! lol.

    Thank you so much for joining us at OSAAT this week, lots of luck to you.

    Hugs Sue Pxxx DT member

  5. wow what an amazing card ,love the images and the card design is spectacular
    Thanks for joining us at MIM and good luck
    tracey x

  6. What a super stunning creation. Wow…the colouring is awesome and the whole layout/design is just stunning too. What a wonderful card…but I’m not sure I could give it away after all of that work !!

    Thanks for joining us at One Stitch at a Time this week for our 200th Challenge. Good luck.

    Lynn, OSAAT DT

  7. Wow, GORGEOUS!!! Such a fun card. Love how you’ve matted the images above the DP, so clever. Thanks for joining OSAAT’s 200th challenge! Best, CG

  8. OMGoodness! Where to start with this amazing card! Your coloring amazing, design amazing, it’s just a well thought out card! The rope for jump roping is just too cute of an idea. Love This! Thanks for joining us at Love to Scrap! Challenge Blog

  9. Oh wow! I can see that a lot of work went into this wonderful project. I too have MIC images and for you to combine one image with the background images and colored them all is a load of work. It paid of though cause your card is fabulous! Love it! Thanks for joining our Challenge in my neighborhood, 613 Avenue Create. Hope you join us again in the brand new challenge this week. God bless you!

    JO ANN
    http://jatterburycreations.blogspot.com

  10. This is a stunning card. All your colouring is beautiful and I love the shape, it’s great as it follows from one scene to the next. Thanks for joining us at Stampin For The Weekend and Good Luck! xx

Leave a Reply

