Little Fishes Big Thank You

Hi Friends,

Fresh on a Monday morning, sharing my very first Elizabeth Craft Designs Design Team card today. We’re making a sweet Thank You card !

You already know how much I love the ocean and what better image to use than the Fishes Peel-Off Stickers! I also chose the Accordion Oval Card die set with the Oval Dots Frame Edges and the Thank You die sets.

Once all the die cuts are made, the very first step I take is connecting the base pieces and only then start adding the frames. This way we can cover the connection points between two base pieces, just like this photo below shows. Also, to create the perfect frames for the base card, I work with all four of the frame edges at once. I first place some glue on the back of each frame piece and only press the middle of each frame onto the base cut. This way I can easily adjust the connection points of each frame segment and the result is perfectly lined up frames.

EDHMC_ECD_DT2_3_10_14

How did I create the images? I cut a 5″ x 5″ Double Sided Adhesive sheet and peeled one of the release sheets off, then placed the adhesive side over white card stock paper, which gave my adhesive a very nice solid base. Now I could peel the other release sheet off as well exposing the other adhesive side — please keep the release sheet, we’ll use it shortly — which will be the front of our image holding our sticker, glitter and later colors as well.

Let’s stay with that release sheet piece we just saved. Yes, it is the release sheet we peeled off from the double sided adhesive. Place this sheet in front of you and place the peel-off stickers you wish to use over this release sheet with their adhesive side up. Make sure the adhesive side is facing up. Now with the peel-off stickers on our release sheet, place the adhesive side of our adhesive & card stock layered paper over it so it’s the adhesive side of the peel-off sticker and the adhesive side of the double-sided adhesive sheet on white card stock meet and bound together. At this point we can lift away our sheet and now the peel-off stickers are nicely positioned over our double-sided adhesive on white card stock. Els van de Burgt of Elizabeth Craft Designs also has a wonderful video of this technique on YouTube: Silk Microfine Glitter – Coloring with Alcohol Markers

This is what our images look like at this point:

EDHMC_ECD_DT1_3_10_14

Let’s go and place the release sheet back over the images and this way we can roughly cut around each image, which gives us extra room around each image that we can hold onto as we’re getting ready to add glitter. Yes, glitter! And each glitter is actually more beautiful in person than any photo can convey.

I decided to use Soft Green Silk Microfine Glitter on the seaweed pieces. Once we add the glitter, shake off the extra and simply use your fingers to rub the surface, which will set the glitter in place, just like this image shows:

EDHMC_ECD_DT13_3_10_14

The little bubbles and the fishes received Cool Diamond Silk Microfine Glitter and each element is now cut out:

EDHMC_ECD_DT14_3_10_14

The next step is coloring over the images and I have to admit, I was absolutely amazed how easy it was to color with Copics, colors were blending instantly and the glitter stayed exactly where they were left:

EDHMC_ECD_DT12_3_10_14

And now it’s time to add our sweet elements to our card. I used foam adhesive underneath each fish so they all stand out giving a more defined 3D effect to the overall look.

I hope you enjoyed this card as much as I did creating it. Happy crafting!

hugs, Rita

EDHMC_ECD_DT10_3_10_14 EDHMC_ECD_DT6_3_10_14
EDHMC_ECD_DT11_3_10_14

I’m entering her in the following challenges (not entered to all listed, some challenge I’m just keeping so I can remember to check the wonderful artworks):
– Marker Pop Challenge#38 Lucky Green
– The Squirrel and the Fox Challenge #65 Autumn or Spring
– Tiddly Inks Challenge Primary Colors
– Make It Monday Final# 182 Challenge 
– Stampin for the Weekend Sparkle and Shine
– Through the Craft Room Door Anything Goes
– Glitter n Sparkle Challenge# 75 Anything Goes
– Alphabet Challenge A for Always and Forever
– Divas By Design Challenge Rubber Stamp Only
– 7 Kids College Funds Challenge# 94 Anything Goes
– Cute Cards #311 What a Gem
– 613 Avenue Create Challenge# 62 Anything Goes
– Chocolate, Coffee and Cards Challenge 
– Crafting When We Can Challenge# 63 Bling
– Love to Scrap #25 Back it Up
– Ruby’s Rainbow Challenge #73 Textures
– Card Making Mamas #82 Splish Splash 
– Brown Sugar Challenge # 84 Make it Sparkle
– Totally Papercrafts Challenge
– Sweet Stampin’ Challenge Cute
– Crafty Sentiments Spots or Dots
– One Stitch At A Time Challenge# 202

20 thoughts on “Little Fishes Big Thank You

  1. oh I love this Rita .. great tutorial, have those fish swimming across the ocean right now 🙂 … well hopefully they are in the air cause otherwise the whole parcel would get wet hehe!

  2. This is a fantastic card. I love the techniques that you use. Thanks for the tutorial. I am pinning so that I can revisit. thanks for joining our Love to Scrap Challenge. You did a great job!

  3. Hallo Rita wooowww I really enjoy to see your step by step by coloring your Image this is really need much time..I have two little boys thats why my card is always easy and simple and I love how you made the fish looks like real with the glitter…so adorable…love your card…

    I see your card on the last MIM and my card is #83 if you would like to see it and leave me some love I would be soo happy…many thanks before and hugs…Monika

  4. What a fab card! you would never have guessed those fishes were peel offs! love it!!! Thanks for sharing with us at Glitter and Sparkle this week! Vic, DT x

Leave a Reply

