First ever Elizabeth Craft Designs Designers’ Challenge: Flowers — Hugs and Bugs with Daisies

EDHMC_ECD_3_22_14

Hello Friends,

Let’s play with some super fun Elizabeth Craft Designs flowers today! Thank you for being here for the first ever Elizabeth Craft Designs Designers’ challenge! How exciting, right?

Please remember to tell me in your comments below if you like this format of steps as I would like to hear what you think, plus now all supplies used are listed at the end for easy reference.

1. Let the fun begin with some white card stock paper! I used a Silhouette cut file so we can create our vase. Once the base is done, I decided to do some extra steps: cut my Elizabeth Craft Designs (ECD) Shimmer Sheetz to size that will cover the outside of our vase and use the ECD Swirly Curves embossing folder — just gorgeous.

DSCF2285_2

2. Now it’s time to bring out our Elizabeth Craft Designs Double Sided Adhesive and my absolute favorite, Cool Diamond Silk Microfine Glitter — I think I am actually addicted to this glitter!

3. Next I place my card stock paper down, peel off the release sheet of the double-sided adhesive and then place this over the card stock. Now we can peel of the other side’s release sheet, add the glitter, rub it into the sheet and just brush off the extra. And yes, it’s okay to sit back and admire a little, I do each and every time.

4. Using the Daisy die set, I cut 4 flower silhouettes out of the layered glittered-adhesive-card stock (try to say this 4 times!) and color them with Copic Y04, Y08 and Y17 markers —  Els van de Burgt of Elizabeth Craft Designs has a wonderful video of this technique on YouTube: Silk Microfine Glitter – Coloring with Alcohol Markers.

5. Now we can cut out 4 overlay flowers from our White Velvet Adhesive sheet using the same Daisy die set and place this die cut velvet over the silhouette flower bases.

DSCF2291_2

6. The Daisy Die set also has a leaf and a flower stem, which we can cut now, 3 layers of the stem makes a really nice thick stem that can hold our flower up in the vase.

DSCF2288_2

7. Since the shimmer sheetz have a gorgeous pink – lavender – white glow, I decided to tie some soft lavender ribbon around the vase. By the way: the bow was the first attempt and got it right! Something that never ever EVER happen, still cannot believe it.

8. Ever since I received my Ladybugs die set, I’ve been looking for a way to use them as, in mind, ladybugs go with daisies. So let’s cut the silhouette base from black card stock and use some Red Velvet Adhesive sheet for the layover pieces — just a sweet addition.

9. Once all the flowers are assembled, we can simply create some cross over sections on the inside of the vase that can hold the flowers apart and voilà! we now have a beautiful shimmer vase with glitter daisies. And yes, two little ladybugs!

I hope that you enjoyed this little gift and please ask me questions, I’m happy to answer!

Hugs, Rita

Supplies used:

White Card Stock
White Iridescent Shimmer Sheetz
Swirly Curves Embossing Folder
Double Sided Adhesive
Cool Diamond Silk Microfine Glitter
Daisy Die Set
Lady Bugs Die Set
Velvet Adhesive Sheets
Lavender Ribbon

DSCF2304_2

DSCF2307_2

I’m entering the following challenges:

– Marker Pop Challenge#39 Anything Goes
– The Squirrel and the Fox Challenge #66 Inspired by a book 
– Alphabet Challenge D is for Diecut
– 613 Avenue Create Challenge# 64 Anything Goes
– Crafting When We Can Challenge# 65
– Ruby’s Rainbow Challenge Happy Birthday!
– Brown Sugar Challenge # 87 Easter
– Crafty Sentiments Challenge Mothers Day
– One Stitch At A Time Challenge# 205

28 thoughts on “First ever Elizabeth Craft Designs Designers’ Challenge: Flowers — Hugs and Bugs with Daisies

  1. Oh my word Rita, I can hardly believe my eyes here. I have a friend who is a potter and, until I started reading about this cheerful project I was convinced that you had created the flowers and put them into one of my friend’s ceramic vases. Incredible and so beautiful.

    It is Mother’s Day in the UK tomorrow and, although I appreciate the thought, I’m not really a fan of cut flowers as I love to see them growing naturally outdoors. In creating these beautiful daisies a gift of ‘everlasting flowers’ is a perfect solution…..especially when arranged in such a stunning vase 🙂 Oh, and how lovely to be able to enjoy ladybugs indoors. Yours are simply gorgeous as is your beautifully tied bow.

    It looks as though you really enjoyed creating this beautiful gift and I have no doubt that it will give a lot of pleasure, and happy smiles, to some special lady …..perhaps in Canada or North East America where Spring is taking its time in arriving.

    Lots of love Ingrid xxx ♥ ♥ ♥

    • Dear Ingrid — thank you so very much for your ever so sweet note! I was hoping to achieve the ceramic look of the vase and so happy to hear that you liked it so much. Yes, these daisies will be lasting a lot longer for sure, sitting on Bell’s shelf now, next to her Lego ship so I know she really likes it too 🙂 lots of hugs and love, Rita

    • Oh my Ingrid…I am like you about this lovely creation (and cut flowers)…I’m soooo in love with what Rita did here…I will comment below, but wanted to let you know I read your lovely comment..and I’m always in awe of how personal you make your comments and how lovely they are.

  2. Just wonderful Rita! It’s amazing that you made that vase with card stock & Shimmer Sheetz – BRILLIANT! Love those daisies too, and they won’t ever wilt….ok and they are glittery too.

  3. Wow, spectacular project!!! Thank you for playing along this week at OSAAT. I sure hope to see you back again very soon. Good Luck in the challenge!!!

    TTFN,

    CraftyGirl OSAAT DT
    craftygirlcardsandcrafts.blogspot.com

  4. Oh my!!! This is STUNNING!! absolutely beautiful. Thank you for joining us this week at OSAAT and good luck. Hugs

    NIKKI DT

  5. A beautiful project, and the format is great, thanks for playing with us at the Squirrel and the Fox, blessings Hilde
    ( just need to tell us what the book was that inspired you…)

  6. Wow! What a super design and fab use of your die cuts. Thanx for sharing with us the Alphabet Challenge.
    Hugz, Jan (DT) xx

  7. Oh WOOWW!! Rita, this is really beautiful! Thanks for the step and step! 🙂
    Thanks for playing at Crafty Sentiments this week. We’re having new challenge starting soon. Wish to see you there!
    Hugs, Mikha

  8. Oh my Rita…I thought this was a real vase…imagine my surprise when I scrolled down and found out how it was created. The whole project just takes my breath away… love it so much and we here in Southern Ontario are in need of a good dose of spring right now…as we still have lots of “white-stuff” around…I thoroughly enjoy all your creations.

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful creation with us at the Brown Sugar Challenge Blog this week. Good luck.

    Lynn, BSCB DT

    • Thank you so much, Lynn! You are so kind! The vase and the flowers have been “confiscated” and now sitting on a shelf in my daughter’s room 🙂 hope flower and summer come soon for you!
      hugs, Rita

Leave a Reply

