Sandy Toes and Salty Kisses

 

EDHMC_KC_Wimsy_4_2_13

Hi Friends!

Something fun today: it’s time for the Kit and Clowder April challenge! Every month we will be doing a fun new challenge over on the Kit and Clowder website where you can win a prize from one of our amazing sponsors: the April Challenge is starting today!

Our fabulous challenge sponsor this month is Whimsy Stamps!

Whimsy Stamps also sponsors the Kit and Clowder website and have generously donated a $15 gift certificate to the winner of this challenge! You do not need to use a whimsy stamps image to participate but there are some fabulous images over in the store to inspire you.

This month we would love to see your Blue Creations! What should be blue? It can be any part of your project, would love to see your coloring or your papers or embellishments, entirely up to you! Our design team has created some fabulous inspiration this month and have even listed what colors we have used in the mediums to create some beautiful blue hues. The challenge will remain open until the first Saturday of the next month. Hope to see you all playing along!

And you already know that I created a card as well, of course I did! Would you like to see how? Of course, you would!

I used Babe at the Beach digital image, who actually reminds me of my little girl when we first started going to the ocean, carrying her little bucket and shovel, ready for the sand and the waves. Of course, life is better at the beach!

1. Using Silhouette Studio, I outlined my cute little girl and had my Silhouette Portrait make the perfect cut around her.

2. Colored her with Copic markers, which is always sooooo much fun! Skin: E000, E00, E11, E21 and E04. Hair: E 42, E43, E74, E49. Hat and swimsuit: B000, B00, B01, B02, B05 and B18. Bucket and shovel: R22, R24, R29, R46 and R59. I also cut out some sailboats and other elements and colored them all with the same Copic colors.

DSCF2419_2

3. Using Momenta card stock paper, I had created an overall 6″ wide x 12″ tall composition, scored at 6″ and used one of my favorite die sets, Lucy Label Pop Up cutting die set by Elizabeth Craft Designs and Karen Burniston — perfect cut each and every time! And these awesome cutting dies are Made in the USA!

4. Have you seen Elizabeth Craft Designs’ shimmer sheetz? Oh, I hope you try them! I don’t believe that pictures do justice to the true beauty of the Turquoise Gemstone color I used!  I cut the waves, the sailboat parts and even the sentiment using Silhouette Portrait on double-cut setting —- the most flawless and absolutely perfect cuts I’ve ever seen!

5. Once all cuts, colors, trims and everything are done, assembly can start. Most elements are sitting on 3D foam squares to add additional dimension to everything. The papers I used were 6 x 6 Glitz paper pack: Uncharted Waters by Traci Smith and Momenta Cardstock

And here’s our finished card — Sandy toes and salty kisses!  Hugs, Rita

DSCF2428_2
DSCF2431_2
DSCF2420_2

I’m entering the following challenges:
– Through the Craft Room Door Anything Goes
– Alphabet Challenge D for Die Cuts
– 7 Kids College Funds Challenge# 96 Anything Goes
– 613 Avenue Create Challenge# 66 Anything Goes
– Crafting When We Can Challenge #66 For a Child

18 thoughts on “Sandy Toes and Salty Kisses

  1. Wow Rita, I really love what you’ve created for the latest challenge and Kit and Clowder. It’s just stunning and does help me to believe that spring and summer may eventually arrive here in Ontario !! I love that image of the chubbly little girl. She’s soooo cute. What a wonderful scene you have created. I must say I ALWAYS enjoying seeing your lovely creations and also reading your lovely comments on the FB Kit and Clowder group too !!

    Thanks for sharing and inspiring me.

    • Oh, sweet Lynn! How wonderful to wake up to your lovely comment!!! Thank you so much for your heartfelt note you left me ❤ Yes, summer will come and I'm sending you lots of hugs and sunshine, 74F here in California today 🙂 xxx Rita

  2. I am a sailor and I love this pop-up! The focal image is colored beautifully, I love all the extra images you added like the sailboat, wheel and the ribbon rays of the sun – well designed, beautifully executed! I personally want to thank you for sharing your project & wonderful creativity at our house!
    ~ginny, DT for 613 Ave Create: #65 ATG Challenge [with optional “Color Challenge”]
    RubberMAD (GettyCollection.com)

  3. Hi Rita,
    what a beautiful card you have made, with so much details. And your image awesomely coloured like always. Thank you for joining us at 613 Avenue Create.
    Cheers,
    Aurora

  4. Well isn’t this just a burst of summer?! Rita, your work is always outstanding and inspiring. Your scene is beautiful and the shimmer sheetz are amazing! Impeccably colored and designed creation. Thank you for sharing with us at 7 Kids College Fund!
    Hugs and blessings,
    Karen

  5. How cute! I love pop up cards – A nice little surprise inside something already fabulous! Thanks for sharing this with us at Through The Craft Room Door, hope to see you again in our next challenge! – XX Cara

Leave a Reply

