My Card for Garrett

DSCF5265_EDC_Barn_1_16_16

Hi Crafty Friends,

It’s been a few months since I last created anything and then last week, my sweet friend invited me to send Cards for Garrett. As you read his story, you’ll learn that he’s legally blind so I wanted to create something that Garrett can touch and feel, no handwriting or coloring from me today. As you already know, I absolutely love the gorgeous die sets by Karen Burniston and Elizabeth Craft Designs. I also adore Authentique Paper and used the wonderful Spectrum II and Cherish Five Collections today. And my inspiration today was The Gentle Barn I love so much! So let’s see what exactly happened in my craft room this weekend.

Once again, today’s card is all about feel and touch using lots and lots of wonderful die sets by Elizabeth Craft Designs, designed by the amazing Els van de Burgt and fantastic Karen Burniston.

To start this project, I cut my card base to 6″ by 12″ and scored at 6″, which was used for the barn and also scored at 2 1/2″, which was used for the fence — really just need support for a sweet sheep.

IMG_3900_2

Next came all my individual die cuts plus used Tim Holtz Distress Embossing Ink in Vintage Photo — complete list of products used is below.

IMG_3901_2

Once everything was cut out, I adhered the the card bases and, with the help my Tim Holtz’s distress tool and ink, the card base was ready. Then I assembled each element and the face of my card was created. Although I initially created 2 horses, only had room for 1 so now I can make another card this week.

DSCF5253_2

The inside is dual-fold giving a really nice 3D effect to the card with a pop-up barn in the background and fence in the foreground, which helps our little Snowball the Sheep stand so sweet and darling.

DSCF5262_2

And of course, lots of other elements are embellishing our card from grass to flowers wishing Garrett a wonderful sweet 16th birthday!

DSCF5266_2

DSCF5267_2

Thank you all for stopping by on this Wednesday! And really, thank you so much for checking out my blog,
hugs, Rita

Products used today:
Authentique Paper Spectrum II and Cherish Five Collections
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Vintage Photo
Tim Holtz Paper Distresser

Products by Elizabeth Craft Designs and Karen Burniston
Pop It Ups – Barn Pop Stand
Pop It Ups – Fence Pop Stand
Snowball the Sheep
Cocoa the Horse
All Seasons Tree
Katie Label Accordion
Accordion Rectangle
Outdoor Edges
Happy Birthday
Glitter Dots

4 thoughts on “My Card for Garrett

Leave a Reply

